The IETE membership is available at different levels based on the applicants' academic qualifications and practical experience in electronics, telecommunications, computers, information technology and related areas. Applicants are invited to seek the highest membership grade they are qualified for. The membership categories are:

Corporate Members:

1.Honorary fellow (HF) (elected),
2.Distinguished Fellow (DF) (elected),
3.Fellow (F),
4.Member (M),
5.Associate member (AM)

Non-Corporate Members:

6. Associate (A),
7. Organisational Member (ORG),
8. AMIETE Student (AMIETE),
9. DIPIETE Student (DipIETE),
10. Diploma Member (DipIETE Passout) (DIP)